Misconceptions and Ungodly Truths About My Generation

Chris Statham
7 min readMar 21, 2020

The UK is where I’m from but it does not define who I am. Let me spell it out what I really think about the island I call home. The wealth gap is getting bigger by the day. Is it right that many pensioners have more disposable income than those working? The government of the day, the Tories, go after the grey vote to further entrench this position and effectively punish the youth with insurmountable levels of debt. Is it any wonder that in modern Britain there is a correlation between financial instability and mental health, and this in the shadow of climate change which many in the older generation seem not to care a jot about. Those whose grandchildren are already grown may think, it won’t impact me, but what about your grandchildren’s grandchildren — what sort of United Kingdom are they going to live in?

The blue rinse brigade might have worked hard and deserve fun in the sun during their retirement, but this shouldn’t be at the expense of future generations . . . and in case I need to remind you, this is coming from someone who has just reached their 40th birthday. I dread to think how those in their twenties must curse the boomer generation. Those in their first decade or teenagers still too young to fully understand the increasingly uncertain world they will soon enter. They don’t have much to look forward to if their parents, my generation, worry so much about the present much less future.

On that point oldies and young’uns, let me tell you about my generation. I’m neither part of the…

--

--

Chris Statham

Entrepreneur, student, pie eater, father, novelist, traveler, poet wannabe, pub visitor, husband, rugby enthusiast and part-time wizard.